The Team

Cameron Mackenzie
Managing Artistic Director

Photograph of Cameeron Mackenzie Originally from South Africa, Cameron is a director, producer & drag queen. He is the founder and Managing Artistic Director of Zee Zee Theatre and has directed most work for the company including My Funny Valentine, Nelly Boy, Tiny Replicas, Whale Riding Weather, Lowest Common Denominator, 5@50 and Elbow Room Cafe: The Musical (Phases 1 and 2). He has also worked with Arts Club, Bard on the Beach, Centaur Theatre, The Vancouver Playhouse, Studio 58, and the PuSh Festival where he produces Club PuSh. As a drag queen, his alter-ego Isolde N. Barron is the Queen of East Van and can be seen every Wednesday night at The Junction co-hosting The Barron Gurl Show. He is the recipient of the Ray Michal Award for Outstanding Body of Work by an Emerging Director, and is a Jessie Richardson Award nominee. He is a graduate of Studio 58.


Dave Deveau
Playwright in Residence / Associate Producer


Photograph of Dave DeveauDave Deveau is an award-winning writer and performer whose plays and operas have been performed across Canada and in Europe. Plays for Zee Zee include: My Funny Valentine, Nelly Boy, Tiny Replicas, Lowest Common Denominator and Elbow Room Cafe: The Musical. He has also worked with Green Thumb Theatre, Theatre la Seizieme, Theatre Direct, Tapestry New Opera Works and the PuSh Festival. He has won the Sydney Risk Prize, the Gordon Armstrong Playwrights’ Rent Award, and has been nominated for two Jessies. He is currently working on new commissions for Zee Zee, Playwrights Theatre Centre, Green Thumb, Nashville Children’s Theatre and the Belfry Theatre. His latest play Ladies and Gentlemen, Boys and Girls premieres with Toronto’s Roseneath Theatre in March. As a drag queen, his alter-ego Peach Cobblah hosts Shame Spiral every Tuesday at 1181. He is a graduate of York University and UBC’s MFA Playwriting program.

Managing Artistic Director
Associate Producer
Cameron Mackenzie Dave Deveau
Associate Artists:
Founding Members:
Sydney Cavanagh Dani Fecko
Jillian Perry Marina Szijarto
 Emma Slipp
Board of Directors:

Peter Dickinson

Robert Hein

Katie Koncan

Ken Manning (President)

Jennifer Scott (Vice President/Treasurer)

Mike Smith

Shawn Sorensen (Secretary)

Bonnie Sun